Awesomesauce


Ok, so a while back on my Facebook page I posted about seeing a barn roof done in a mosaic that was the MOST awesome thing EVER (you know aside from my husband, baby, God, etc).  Now, some may have thought I was being a bit hasty, perhaps I would see something MORE awesome in the next few weeks, or even years from now, and be sad that I had wasted such an extreme declaration on a barn roof.

But NO.   You see, we recently moved, as I documented in my preggo/giving birth stories.  We moved from a relatively urban area to a very rural area.  It forced me to give up a job I love with no prospects of finding a similar career while we are in such a rural setting. (Not many jobs for Econ/Theology Master degree holders in a town of 1,200.)  Why yes, I do want to be a Stay-at-home-Mom, but perhaps in the future I would like to re-enter the workforce?  Not an option here, at least not in my field or in a position any grander than coffee-house worker.

So, when I get down about being 30 minutes from a decent grocery store, 25 minutes to a run down, bug-infested hospital, an hour from anything resembling an urban/cultural setting, when I get upset that the governing church board that decides when my husband moves and where apparently takes NO account whatsoever for the spouse’s career or need to work in a field that doesn’t make her think she wasted 6 years earning two degrees and spending thousands of dollars to do so, I remind myself that I live 20 minutes from THE most awesome thing ever:

SQUEEE!

Why yes, I know EXACTLY what you are thinking, surely this is a sign that tells me a family of leprechauns has a unicorn farm 20 minutes from me and I am THE LUCKIEST GIRL IN THE WORLD.

And then that reminds me how blessed I am overall.  To have an amazing baby and family, to live in a quiet country setting with a house 5 blocks from one of the largest and cleanest lakes in Indiana.  To make a go at this Stay-at-home-Mom thing, something I have really wanted for a very long time.  And worse case scenario, that financially I have to find some type of employment, that there are worse things than being a coffee-house barista. (Just think of all the over caffeinated inspired posts I would write!)

AND that I have a husband who drove back with our camera to get me a picture of this to share with you all.  Which reminds me I am blessed to have readers that read my random ramblings and support me in my journey.  I’m hoping to infiltrate the unicorn farm and post pictures soon! 😉

8 responses to “Awesomesauce

  1. Hahaha those people must have nothing else going on with their farm to spend time putting that together! If I could get all the chicken and goat poop scooped up, I’d be happy, let alone have time to decorate LOL. It is pretty though, and so very random!

  2. Love that roof! LOL. I simply adore being a SAHM, and wouldn’t trade it for anything. But I used to sing opera and now I live far away from anything like that, so I kind of get it. I miss singing. I miss hearing it live, going to the opera and feeling your whole being transported to a higher plane. Nothing like it. But I’d rather be a mom. 🙂 Still, one day, I’d love to be able to go to the opera whenever I felt like it. *sigh* Maybe a vacation is in order. 🙂

  3. I feel like I could have written this post. 🙂 I’m an int’l business major living in a town of 1,000 people in rural CO. What the heck happened?! You’re right – it’s a blessing and a curse, all at once at times! What a fun roof!!

Leave a Reply

