The Chubby ex-Vegan


So we went Vegan for lent.  And my feeling on the whole experience can be summed up like this: ‘Meh’.

I lost 3 pounds, Jacob lost 5.  Stupid boys and their higher metabolic rates.  Now to make sure I could accurately claim that going vegan caused me to lose weight I controlled for other factors, like exercise.  And by that I mean I sat on my ass for 6 weeks.  I did nothing, ate a lot of vegan food, and still lost some weight.  The argument could be made that me not exercising had nothing to do with the scientific accuracy of our vegan experiment and more to do with the fact that I am a lazy slug.  But lets not dither over details.

During our vegan time was also watched the movie, “Food Inc.”,  which is a documentary on how food is grown and raised in the United States.  It was illuminating.  It wasn’t a lot of, ‘gross-out in your face, save the animals’ drama, though it had a few moments like that.  But it does raise the important issue of if you can’t handle to know the truth of how your food gets to your table, maybe you shouldn’t be eating it.  Oh, and I am pretty much never going to eat chicken again.  I don’t even like to think about chicken now, yech.

I also noticed that cutting out all dairy from my life cleared my complexion up completely.  It was CRAZY!  I had heard dairy could cause skin issues but I never really believed it.  I’m not all acne riddled but I get the occasional pimple and can go from desperately dry skin one day to oil slick the next.  While vegan I had none of these issues. 

Man do I paint a sexy picture of myself or what? 

So where does this leave me after going vegan?

Chubby.  Yup, I gained all the weight back already despite the fact that I’ve added exercise back into my life.  Damn you cheese for being so tasty. 

I had intended to stay dairy free given the positive effect it had on my complexion.  But then I came across this recipe: Ina Garten Mac and Cheese.  OH. MY. GOD.  How can you resist Gruyère Cheese?  It was SOOOOO good.  But now I’m shoring up my resolve and am back on the band wagon of no dairy.  I think. 

Oh, and I had Bacon.  Jacob surprised me with bacon for breakfast on my birthday.  Nothing says ‘I love you’ like bacon.  Or is that diamonds?  Or maybe a pony?  Better not chance it, lets say all three. 

The hardest part of going vegan was not resorting to eating a lot of carbs.  And while I know a lot of people who have gone vegan and say it is easy to get a variety of foods and easy to make meal ideas, I did not find that the case.  All the recipes involved exotic and expensive ingredients.  So unless we wanted to live on carrot sticks and veggie soup we spent a good bit of time and money on making vegan dishes.  My guess is most vegans do live on carrot sticks and veggie soup because every vegan I have met  I have wanted to force feed because they look so thin. Or maybe I’m just jealous of their slenderness. 

But seriously, how do you give up bacon? 

My resolve now is to not eat meat unless it is raised humanely and not pumped full of hormones and antibiotics.  That type of meat is pricier, but it is worth it to me.  It taste better, it’s aligned with Christian principles (and all other religions), and is better for our environment as a whole.  This will mean we only eat meat 1-2 times a week, due to the increased cost, which is better health wise as well. 

So who’s up for some humanely raised grass-fed bacon?

3 responses to “The Chubby ex-Vegan

  1. Well I gave up snacking between meals and lost 4 lbs,oh by the way did ya eat any chicken here?

  2. @ Dad, I did, one piece with you and some with Cherie who made us Chicken and dumplings. It’s not that it doesn’t taste good, I just start thinking about it too much and it turns my stomach.

  3. I think there’s a lot to be said for a less-meat (not necessarily meatless) lifestyle. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing. DH and I go vegetarian a couple days a week and generally try not to focus our meals around huge slabs of meat. Works for us!

Leave a Reply

